New Rule for Visa Free Travel

EU New Rule for Visa Free Travel 2024

New Rule for Visa free Travel in the EU. The ambassadors from the European Union member countries recently decided to make a change to the rules for visiting Europe. They’ve come up with a new rule to make sure that countries whose folks can visit the Schengen area without a visa are playing fair.

Now, you might be wondering why they felt the need to do this. Well, it seems that sometimes the whole visa-free travel rule can get a bit messy or not work out in the EU’s best interests. So, this new law is all about helping the EU handle those tricky situations better.

Let’s break down these new EU New Rule for Visa Free Travel:

  • If a country outside the EU isn’t abiding by the same visa rules as the EU, and this leads to a large influx of people going over to the EU (especially if they’re pretty close by), the EU can hit pause on the visa-free travel.
  • The EU is keeping a close watch on what they call “investor citizenship schemes”. Basically, if a country is handing out passports like candy in exchange for money or investments without any real ties to that country, that’s a big no-no.
  • They’re also on the lookout for “hybrid threats” and any issues with document security. These could also lead to visa-free travel being put on hold.

EU New Rule for Visa Free Travel

If things between the EU and a particular country suddenly go south, especially when it comes to things like human rights and basic freedoms, the EU can hit the pause button on visa-free travel from that country.

Meanwhile, the duration of temporary suspension of the visa exemption has been increased from 9 to 12 months and can be extended by another 24 months (instead of 18 months under the current system).

During this suspension phase, the European Commission will engage in a dialogue with the third country in order to take steps to remedy the circumstances that led to the suspension.

The Schengen area is made up of 26 countries, 23 of which are EU members. The remaining four non EU countries, which are part of something called the European Free Trade Association are Norway, Liechtenstein, Iceland, and Switzerland.

The other 23 nations are Germany, Austria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, Denmark, Greece, Belgium, Slovenia, Italy, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Luxemburg, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, France, Sweden, Spain and Croatia.

So, there you have it! Some new rules to make sure everything stays above board when it comes to visiting Europe.

Why not plan your next trip to one of these amazing Countries in the EU

austria, belgium, czechrepublic, denmark, estonia, europe, finland, germany, greece, home, hungary, italy, latvia, lithuania, malta, slovenia, Travel news, travelnews


Private Facebook group
for the travel industry

Travel Talks Platform Group

5.8k members

Travel Talks Platform for the travel industry

Follow the travel news – Traveltalksplatform is the number 1 news site to stay updated on amazing travel facts, the latest news, events, incentive ideas, MICE news, job opportunities and shows.

Specially composed for the travel industry, you will find the latest travel facts at your fingertips.



Stay updated about the latest travel news worldwide


The latest airline news, hotel news, cruise news and MICE news in your inbox:
Stay updated about
the latest travel news worldwide



Copyright © 2021 e-motions international


We assume no responsibility or liability for any errors or omissions in the content of this site. The information contained in this site is provided on an "as is" basis with no guarantees of completeness, accuracy, usefulness or timeliness.